Isaiah 48:17

Standard

17 This is what the Lord says—
your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:
“I am the Lord your God,
who teaches you what is best for you,
who directs you in the way you should go

 

 

Matthew Henry’s Concise Commentary

48:16-22 The Holy Spirit qualifies for service; and those may speak boldly, whom God and his Spirit send. This is to be applied to Christ. He was sent, and he had the Spirit without measure. Whom God redeems, he teaches; he teaches to profit by affliction, and then makes them partakers of his holiness.

Also, by his grace he leads them in the way of duty; and by his providence he leads in the way of deliverance. God did not afflict them willingly. If their sins had not turned them away, their peace should have been always flowing and abundant. Spiritual enjoyments are ever joined with holiness of life and regard to God’s will.

It will make the misery of the disobedient the more painful, to think how happy they might have been. And here is assurance given of salvation out of captivity. Those whom God designs to bring home to himself, he will take care of, that they want not for their journey.

This is applicable to the grace laid up for us in Jesus Christ, from whom all good flows to us, as the water to Israel out of the rock, for that Rock was Christ.

The spiritual blessings of redemption, and the rescue of the church from anti christian tyranny, are here pointed to.

But whatever changes take place, the Lord warned impenitent sinners that no good would come to them; that inward anguish and outward trouble, which spring from guilt and from the Divine wrath, must be their portion for ever.

About Dreamcatcher

Music is my life Music is my laughter that makes me cry Music is the thing that changed my life Music is my happiness I always feel in side Music is my every thing When you are down let music turn you around What ever you are feeling let music take it over Turn the music up real loud and jest scream it all out Let the pain run write through you Let the tears undue you Do nothing more but sing your soul out And tell everyone what you are about! ! ! Music is my life Music is my laughter that makes me cry Music is the thing that changed my life Music is my happiness I always feel in side Music is my every thing Tell every one what you are all about Jest expresses your self and let it out! Let no one tell you …. You can not live your dreams If you want to sing, sing, sing the music You like while you tell them what you are all about! Music is my life Music is my laughter that makes me cry Music is the thing that changed my life Music is my happiness I always feel in side Music is my every thing Music can be my heart beating for you Music can be the sound of your voice Music can be the butterflies in my belly when they talk about you Music can be the cars beeping in the high way Music is the thing that’s get you off your feet Music is my life Music is my laughter that makes me cry Music is the thing that changed my life Music is my happiness I always feel in side Music is my every thing Music is everywhere around you! ! ! !

Leave a Reply

